My first post on this blog was an unintentional exercise in verbosity. I needed to get it all out of my system, to say the things I was thinking about, trying to frame the ideas that I want talk about in this blog. I think this process is my way of finding my way back to my own imagination, which I believe is at the root of possibility.

Brevity, the ability to actually be succinct and to the point is a gift. I look for clarity in the world around me, in the mythologies that are playing out in the world around us, and the dilemmas we are all facing. I look for leadership, and within that container I look for brevity and a certain kind of directness that speaks to a globalized truth. I am not diminishing individuality or unique perspective when I ask for unifying leadership that speaks to the core issues that we are all facing as a global culture. (Now I know what I say”global culture” it raises some ire because differentiation amongst various levels of sociological strata, based on finance or race or creed or opportunity, set up a specific scenario that does not actually appear to be unified at all.) So to use this idea of global culture I probably need to succinctly clarify that what I’m describing is the unifying field of humanity that we all share via our biological commonality and our shared environment.

The other day I went to see a screening of the new Michael Moore film “Capitalism: a love story.”, and was pleasantly surprised. Not only is it an excellent film by virtue of its clarity and succinctly delivered message, but what caught my attention was the initial premise that Mr. Moore presents. In my first blog I spoke about being a student of history and what I believe to be was a failed system of collective consensus based on the acquisition of material wealth that supports the idea of a corporate feudal society wherein we, meaning 99% of the world population, or the feudal serfs serving the corporate masters. The opening of Mr. Moore’s film is an overdubbed version of an old school history film about the rise and fall of the Roman Empire, and interestingly enough he uses that particular story and model as a way of demonstrating the parallels between what caused the decline of the Roman Empire and what’s currently happening in the American and actually Western world political systems. He goes on to explain that the very system that we are operating under is an extremely divisive state where the disproportionate distribution of wealth is at the root of the problem. I have to be honest and say I felt somewhat vindicated in my rant, as having never seen this film, I found it interesting that the meme shared in my blog, of history repeating itself, referncing the Roman empire, the initial ideas starting this blog, were in fact identical to Mr. Moore’s message. I was pleased to be in line with these memes as an agent of possible discourse and change.

I want solutions. I want to live in a culture that supports the idea that life is about imagining possibility and doing something about it. We are rushing headlong toward some invisible destiny based on this idea of acquisition and material wealth as if these things are somehow a cushion against the invisible pressing immediacy that our own mortality and fragility presents us, on a moment to moment basis. We are, after all, an incredibly tiny and fragile species living in a vast universe, we are the Who’s in Whoville, waiting to hear from Horton.

If imagination and soul are deeply connected, where is that in our social worldview? I know I personally spend a lot of time looking for deeper connections. In music that I make, in the words that I write, and with the people that I care about. This blog is my digital message in a bottle and I’m casting out into the Cyber-Sea in hopes of being found.

My hope is to participate in the dissemination of memes that actually help change the world for the better.

